PC: tiki.oneworld.org

National Award for Prevention of Pollution

Name of the scheme: National Award for Prevention of Pollution

Number of Categories in which the award is given:

Awards numbering up to 18 will be given each year, one in each of the identified category of highly polluting industries. These industries have been identified as-

  • Sugar
  • Fertilizer
  • Cement
  • Fermentation and Distillery
  • Aluminium
  • Petro-Chemicals
  • Thermal Power
  • Caustic Soda
  • Oil Refinery
  • Sulphuric Acid
  • Tanneries
  • Copper Smelting
  • Zinc Smelting
  • Iron and Steel
  • Pulp and Paper
  • Dye and Dye Intermediates
  • Pesticides
  • Pharmaceuticals


  • Success in defining environmental pollution needs meeting pollution prevention goals and overall improvements to the quality of air, water and land.
  • Soundness of approach, scientific design and cost effectiveness.
  • Abatement including reduction, reuse recycling or any beneficial use of waste generated, substantial and steady reduction in the effluents and emissions in the year.
  • Reduction of risk to the community living in the vicinity of units handling hazardous chemicals.
  • Any other identifiable specific and significant contribution towards the manufacture of environmentally friendly products and development and use of environmentally sound technologies.
  • Substantial and continuing steps for environmental improvement.

Nature of the award:

  • A Trophy
  • A Citation
  • Rupees One Lakh Cash Prize

For more information, click here

About Shreya Chatterjee

Check Also

Get 25% capital subsidy: Go Green with this Government Scheme

Assistance For Common Effluent Treatment Plant (CETP) The Ministry of Environment, Forest and Climate Change ...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *