Breaking News
Home / Welfare Schemes / BPL / National Social Assistance Programme (NSAP)
Photo Courtesy:

National Social Assistance Programme (NSAP)

NSAP  is a welfare programme being administered by the Ministry of Rural Development to provide financial assistance to the elderly, widows and persons with disabilities in the form of social pensions in rural areas as well as urban areas. The NSAP was launched with the aim of providing social assistance to destitutes ‘defined as any person who has little or no regular means of subsistence from his/her own source of income or through financial support from family members or other sources’.

Schemes under NSAP:

S. No. Scheme Eligibility Assistance
1 Indira Gandhi National Old Age Pension Scheme (NOAPS)  Individuals aged 60 years and above living below the poverty line Rs. 200/month (Age group of 60-79 years)

Rs. 500/month (Age group of 80 years and above)

2 Indira Gandhi National Widow Pension Scheme (IGNWPS) Widows aged between 40-59 years living below the poverty line Rs. 300/month
3 Indira Gandhi National Disability Pension Scheme (IGNDPS) Individuals aged 18 years and above with disability (physically/mentally) living below the poverty line Rs. 300/month (Age group of 18-79 years)

Rs. 500/month (Age group of 80 years and above)

4 National Family Benefit Scheme (NFBS) Below poverty line family which lost (death) its primary breadwinner (Aged 18-60 years) Rs. 20,000
5 Annapurna Scheme (NFBS) Senior citizens,inspite of being eligible remained uncovered under the IGNOAPS 10 kg of free rice/month


About Sahitya

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *