Breaking News
Home / News / Swadesh Darshan Scheme

Swadesh Darshan Scheme

The Union Ministry of Tourism has launched the Swadesh Darshan Scheme with an aim to develop theme based tourist circuits in the country and to attract more tourists in the country. These tourist circuits will connect some of the places in such a way that they can be visited in a single tour.

These tourist circuits will be developed on the principles of high tourist value, competitiveness and sustainability in an integrated manner. They will be developed by synergizing efforts to focus on concerns and needs of all stakeholders to enrich tourist experience and enhance employment opportunities.

Under this scheme, 13 thematic circuits have been identified for development. They are Buddhist Circuit, North-East India Circuit, Coastal Circuit, Himalayan Circuit, Krishna Circuit, Desert Circuit, Eco Circuit, Wildlife Circuit, Tribal Circuit, Rural Circuit, Spiritual Circuit, Ramayana Circuit and Heritage Circuit.


  • The Heritage Circuit in Uttarakhand:

It covers Jageshwar-Devidhura-Katarmal-Baijnath sites with total project cost of approximately 83 crores rupees.

  • Coastal circuit in Tamil Nadu:

It envisages development of Chennai-Mamamallapuram-Rameshwaram-Manpadu-Kanyakumari. The total project cost is of approximately 100 crores.

  • Ramayana Circuit in Uttar Pradesh:

It envisages development of two destinations, Chitrakoot and Shringverpur. North East circuit in Sikkim: It includes development of cultural centre, paragliding centre and craft bazaar for mountaineering and meditation hall at approximate project cost of 95 crores.

  • Heritage Circuit in Madhya Pradesh:

It covers developing Tourism Infrastructure Gwalior-Orchha-Khajuraho-Chanderi-Bhimbetka-Mandu. The total project cost is of approximately 100 crore rupees.

Source: Ministry of Tourism

About Shubham

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *