Government will launch more variants under the Jan Dhan scheme: Arun Jaitley


  • The government has launched three social security programmes – the Pradhan Mantri Suraksha Bima Yojana (PMSBY), the Pradhan Mantri Jeevan Jyoti Bima Yojana (PMJJBY) and the Atal Pension Yojana (APY) under the Jan Dhan umbrella, says finance minister Arun Jaitley.
  • The government plans to bring these social security schemes run by different departments or ministries under one roof in order to have better policy formulation and coordination.
  • Jaitley informed the committee of lawmakers the success of the Pradhan Mantri Jan Dhan Yojana (PMJDY) as within one year 16.73 crore accounts have been opened and the total deposits in these was nearly Rs 20,000 crore.

Source: ET

About Swathi Ragiphani

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *