Breaking News
Home / Ministries / External Affairs / UK to be on India’s e-visa system from Independence Day

UK to be on India’s e-visa system from Independence Day


  • The UK is among 36 new countries to be added to India’s electronic visa system from Independence Day, taking the number of nations on the list to 113.
  • The e-visa route will allow British nationals flying to India for tourism and recreational purposes to apply and pay for their visa online and carry a printout as proof.
  • Besides some of the main hubs of New Delhi, Mumbai, Kolkata, and Chennai, additional airports offering the e-visa facility will include Ahmedabad, Amritsar, Gaya, Jaipur, Lucknow, Trichy and Varanasi.
  • With this total number of designated airports will become 16. Since the launch of the scheme on 27/11/2014 more than 200,000 e-Tourist Visas have been issued till now. It is expected that this substantial addition of countries and airports will give big boost to tourism industry in the country.
  • E-visa applicants will be expected to apply online a minimum of four days before the date of travel and the cost of the visa is around $60 with a validity of 30 days from the date of arrival in India.

    Source: ET

About Surabhi K

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *