Photo Courtesy-

Almost 1000 Railway Stations have been developed as Adarsh Stations: Suresh Prabhu

Near about 1,000 railway stations in the country have been developed as ‘Adarsh’ stations with facilities like toilets, drinking water, catering services and waiting rooms.

  • The Adarsh station scheme of developing railway stations started in 2009-2010. Railway Minister Mr. Suresh Prabhu said 1,052 stations were identified out of which 946 stations were developed as Adarsh stations till 2014-2015.
  • He however revealed that the review process of these facilities will continue and it will keep on upgrading in accordance with the needs and expectations of passengers.
  • The progress of these stations is continuously monitored at various levels like zonal railway level and Railway Board Level. The cost for developing the railway stations is usually funded under Plan Head-‘Passenger Amenities’, revealed Mr. Prabhu.

(Source: NDTV)

About Shreya Chatterjee

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *