Breaking News
Home / Ministries / Infrastructure Related / Power / Guwahati and five other cities to be developed as ‘solar cities’ in northeast

Guwahati and five other cities to be developed as ‘solar cities’ in northeast


  • Guwahati and five other cities in the northeast will be developed as solar cities to reduce dependency on conventional energy.
  • The six cities – Guwahati and Jorhat in Assam, Kohima and Dimapur in Nagaland, Itanagar n Arunachal Pradesh and Agartala in Tripura – will be developed under the Development of Solar Cities Programme of the union ministry of new and renewable energy (MNRE).
  • To reduce dependency on conventional energy, the Tripura government has already launched an ambitious plan to make Agartala a solar city by initially replacing 10 per cent of the power use by solar energy.
  • As part of the project, solar hot water systems would be installed in all hotels, nursing homes, school hostels, government circuit houses and bungalows, hospitals and health centres, tourist lodges, temples and the governor`s residence.
  • The MNRE would bear 90 per cent of the cost involved and 10 per cent would be borne by the respective northeastern state governments.
  • The Agartala Municipal Corporation (AMC) has signed an MoU (Memorandum of Understanding) with Energy Efficiency Services Limited (EESL) to put up LED lights in large parts of Agartala city

Source: ET

About Surabhi K

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *