Breaking News
Home / Welfare Schemes / BPL / Roshni (A light to youth in Roshni Districts)

Roshni (A light to youth in Roshni Districts)

Roshni is one of the sub-schemes under ASDP. The Ministry of Rural Development in 2013, launched a new skill development scheme designed to offer employment to tribal youth in critical Left Wing Extremist (LWE) affected districts. These LWE districts are named as ‘Roshni  Districts’ and are 24 in numbers. Roshni will be extended to cover all tribal areas and will be oriented towards addressing the infrastructure, education and health deficiencies in these areas, and leveraging the availability of natural resources and traditional skills and knowledge.

Key Features:

  • The scheme aims to train 50,000 youths in 3 years provide at least 75% of them with jobs in the organized sectors.
  • At least 50% of the candidates covered under the scheme should be women.
  • The scheme would provide customized and fully residential training with duration ranging from 3 months to one year.
  • Special efforts will be made to benefit Primitive Tribal Groups (PGTs) on a priority basis.


  • Persons should be between the age of 18-35 years.
  • Persons should belong to one of the Roshni districts.
  • Persons who are eligible but left to gain benefits from Aajeevika scheme.

 List of Roshni Districts:

1.      Visakhapatnam 2.      Gaya 3.      Jamui 4.      Balrampur
5.      Bijapur 6.      Sukma 7.      Kanker 8.      Narayanpur
9.      Chatra 10.  Garhwa 11.  Gumla 12.  Latehar
13.  Palamau 14.  West Singhbhum 15.  Balaghat 16.  Gadchiroli
17.  Gajapati 18.  Kandhamal 19.  Koraput 20.  Malkangiri
21.  Nuapada 22.  Rayagada 23.  Sonebhadra 24.  Midnapore West


For More Details: Click Here

About Sahitya

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *